How I shot that? Thunder Mountain

Thunder mountain is an amazing but very fast ride.  And you guaranteed to be swinging left and right.  As a rule, ANY ride I always keep the camera strap on and if anything feels strange I will just press the camera on my chest.  This is how I take my camera on Expedition Everest.  On other wet rides, I’ll use my hat to cover it.  🙂   Back to the ride, I’ve been trying for a long time to get some good ‘action’ shots.  So when I got the Canon 80d, one of the things that I liked about it was the ability to shoot at 1/8000 of a second.  Both my previous cameras (t3, t5i) only did 1/4000 and while that is freaking fast per say.  I knew I needed that extra edge.

So I set up my camera for Manual, which means I can lock the shutter at 1/5000 as well as the f-stop, which in this case f2.8 and let it go crazy on the ISO.  What I got was a somewhat noisy picture but the action was frozen, score!!!

Now note I have done a couple of failed tries, one using 1/8000 and the iso was just too high and the quality looked like a blackberry from the 80’s.

As for post editing, this is what I did.  I brought up the shadows to show the train cabin. And if you look closely you can see the noise on it.  Then with a brush in lightroom, I removed the noise setting it to 80%.  I could have brightened it more but since the eye looks for the brightest part in the picture I left the sunset bright as well as the train on the top.  Then brought up the orange and yellow and there you go.  Hope this helps anyone out.

Leave a Reply

